P R E S S    R E L E A S E

The 2018 Regional Championships has attracted an entry of 75 bands over the 5 sections.   Details are given of the start times and venues for each of the sections.

Championship: Opera House

After 4th section results at approx 2.30 p.m.

Adjudicators: Derek Broadbent & Jim Davies

First:  The Empress Ballroom

After 3rd section results at approx. 2.15 p.m.

Adjudicators: Sarah Groarke-Booth & Glyn Williams

Second:  Pavilion Theatre

Starts at 11.00 a.m.

Adjudicators: Tom Davoren & Derek Southcott

Third:  The Empress Ballroom

Starts at 9.45 a.m.

Adjudicators: Leigh Baker & Gary Davies

Fourth:  Opera House

Starts at 10.30 a.m.

Adjudicators: Paul Holland & Brian Rostron

All-Day Tickets are available from the Box Office (on the day only) at £10 for Adults and £7 for Concessions.    The ticket allows you to listen to as many bands as you wish in any of the three halls in use.   The Region does not have a “section or hall only” ticket.

If anyone wishes to volunteer to help steward the event on the day this would be much appreciated and you should contact the regional secretary with your availability.


The dates have been agreed with the Winter Gardens, Blackpool and they are:-

24th February 2019   and   23rd February 2020


Making your views known via a web-site means that you are not contacting the people who manage the Regional Championships. Web-site owners have made this point before but still people don’t write to the organisers.

If bands have any matters they feel the Regional Committee should be looking at and discussing then the only way this can be done is for a band official to write, or email, direct to the Regional Secretary. The Regional Committee can only deal with requests, views and opinions sent this way and will not enter into public debate via any brass web-site. The Regional Committee tries to do its best for the bands in this region and in organising the Regional Championships.

Details of the Regional Secretary’s address and email address can be found on the Contacts Page.